ABOUT

A pianist influenced by Bud Powell, Hank Jones, Teddy Wilson, Emilie Calvez settled in Paris in 2015 and created her first trio in 2018. She works with several musicians playing in Paris and all over France. As she is extremely sensitive, she is inspired by the great musicians she has met in Paris and on her numerous trips to New York. Her musical universe is nourished by them and built around them. Particularly attached to this formula, Emilie is today at the head of two trios:

Emilie Calvez Trio ('s)

Emilie Calvez (p) Vincent Robineau (g) Laurent Fradelizi (b)

The second takes up the "queen of jazz" instrumentation, that of the great masters : the trio piano, bass, drums. Highlighting the piano strongly supported by the energy of the rhythmic session, this band allows you to freely explore the hardbop repertory : from Sonny Clark to Cedar Walton, via Horace Silver...

The first is characterized by an original instrumentation : piano, guitar, bass. This iintimate approach makes it possible to revisit the standards, but also the bop repertory since this project was the topic of a first recording dedicated to Bud Powell.
Emilie Calvez (p) Laurent Fradelizi (b) Stéphane Chandelier (d)

© 2023 by Natasha Miller. Proudly created with Wix.com

PROJETS

Pianiste influencée par Bud Powell, Hank Jones, Teddy Wilson, Emilie Calvez arrive à Paris en 2015, et crée son premier trio en 2018. ​Elle accompagne de nombreux musiciens sur la scène parisienne et partout en France. ​Dotée d'une grande sensibilité, Paris ainsi que ses fréquents voyages à New-York lui permettent de s'inspirer de musiciens extraordinaires qui construisent et nourrissent son univers musical. Affectionnant particulièrement cette formule, Emilie est aujourd'hui à la tête de deux trios :

Emilie Calvez Trio ('s)

Emilie Calvez (p) Vincent Robineau (g) Laurent Fradelizi (b)

Le second reprend l'instrumentation "reine du jazz", celle des grands maîtres : le trio piano, contrebasse, batterie. Mettant en valeur le piano solidement soutenu par l'énergie de la rythmique, cette formation permet d'aller explorer en toute liberté le répertoire hardbop : De Sonny Clark à Cedar Walton, en passant par Horace Silver...

Le premier se distingue par une instrumentation originale : piano, guitare, contrebasse. Cette formule intimiste permet de revisiter les standards, mais aussi le répertoire bop puisque ce projet a fait l'objet d'un enregistrement consacré au pianiste Bud Powell.
Emilie Calvez (p) Laurent Fradelizi (b) Stéphane Chandelier (d)

© 2023 by Natasha Miller. Proudly created with Wix.com